Pernilla in Greece

imgres

Global Citizen Testimonial

I decided to do an AIESEC Global Citizen internship because I wanted to do something different for the summer. AIESEC could offer me with chance to travel, gain professional experience, meet new people, and have an impact on society, which is exactly what I wanted. For my exchange, I went to Thessaloniki in Greece.

DSCN1296

The project I was a part of is called NGO for Change and the purpose is to empower Greek NGOs to grow and become more sustainable to be able to handle the social issues Greece is currently facing. I worked as a marketing assistant at CITY College, the International Faculty of the University of Sheffield. My main responsibilities were to assist the Marketing, Communications & Student Recruitment Department in their day-to-day activities, conduct market research, and write promotional material.

DSCN1256

However, my stay in Thessaloniki was not all about work. I got to meet people from all over the world, attend an AIESEC conference and travel a bit around the country. I would recommend anyone who wants to do something different, challenging, and rewarding to do go on a Global Citizen volunteering experience. You learn a lot about other cultures but also about your own culture and about yourself. There will be challenges but it is also an opportunity to have fun, make friends for life, and have an impact on society.

Pernilla Johansson

Leave a Reply

