Josefin in Greece

imgres

An AIESEC summer in Greece

I wanted to do something different this summer; go somewhere I haven’t been before, meet new people from all over the world and make a positive change. This is why I decided to spend my summer as a volunteer with AIESEC. Through AIESEC I found a great project, working with a girls’ orphanage as an English & Dance Teacher, and this is how I spent my summer in Thessaloniki, Greece.

Thessaloniki is a thriving student city, the second biggest in Greece. People here walk slowly and seem happy, despite the current situation with the economic crisis. “Halara” is a common expression here, meaning “take it easy.”

This project went for 8 weeks and I can truly say that so far it has been one of my best experiences and summers of my life. The work has been great, teaching young Greek girls both English and body language. I have also spent most of my free time with other AIESECers from the US, Canada, Malaysia, Brazil, Italy, Australia and Kenya, just to name a few! Together we have been enjoying amazing Greek food, visited the beautiful surrounding beaches of Chalkidiki and embraced the very laid-back Greek lifestyle. During the weekends we have gone to various cities and places nearby, such as Meteora with monasteries on top of giant cliffs, markets with everything you could ask for. We also went to Istanbul on a weekend trip, which was only a 9-hour bus ride away.

Turkish tea time with my international friends (and a carpet sales man speaking all of our separate languages! Swedish, Italian, Malay, English and learning Hindi...) in Grand Bazaar during a weekend in Istanbul.
Turkish tea time with my international friends (and a carpet sales man speaking all of our separate languages! Swedish, Italian, Malay, English and learning Hindi…) in Grand Bazaar during a weekend in Istanbul.

I have made friends for a lifetime and I am extremely happy that I took the chance to come here. AIESEC is doing a great job in Greece, Thessaloniki, having welcomed volunteers from all kinds of NGO’s, museums and kindergartens. This is something I will continue working with back home in Lund, Sweden.

Go AIESEC!

“Global Village”- a day when all interns met up to present typical food and things related to their countries.

Josefin Hjertman, 2015

Leave a Reply

