Elena in Lund

FL LogoFrom Finland to Lund: Our Local Committee President

Originally, I’m from the capital area of Finland, but the Baltic Sea Archipelago is where I feel at home. Most of my extra time I like to spend by the sea, and I absolutely hate living inland. Despite my love for the salt water, I didn’t become a pirate, but moved to Skåne to study Global Politics.

20150803_191424Most of us have someone that we look up to; people that we idolise or strive to be some day. Unsurprisingly, one of mine was the insanely famous French pioneer of marine conservation, Jacques-Yves Cousteau.  But even bigger impact to my future was made by a Finnish United Nations diplomat, who truly is awe-inspiring human being. This is how my AIESEC journey started: from my idol, Nobel Peace Price winner and former President of Finland, Martti Ahtisaari. When I looked into his younger days, I found out that Mr. Ahtisaari had been an AIESECer and still speaks very highly of the organisation. (Martti Ahtisaari’s Greetings to AIESEC)

Needless to say I was intrigued.

I joined AIESEC in Lund February 2014. First, I was part of our Communications team and after half a year applied to the Vice President position. To my great surprise, I was accepted to the position and got the responsibility over our PR, Marketing & Communications for the term 14/15. I can still remember the elections. My whole body was shaking from excitement. Later on, I wanted to further develop myself and got elected as President of AIESEC in Lund 15/16 starting from this June.

20150803_191235This year our Executive Board consists of 6 nationalities from 4 different continents, so just a regular board meeting is an international experience. My job as the president is to make sure that we don’t cut any corners and everything happens as it should, but I also represent AIESEC in Lund to our eight other Local Committees in Umeå, Stockholm, Linköping, Jönköping, Uppsala, Göteborg and Kalmar. On top of this, part of the job is to attend leadership development conferences in Sweden and overseas, but that’s more of a privilege than anything else.

Although travelling is one of the highlights of my position, the best moment for me is, when a new member has their AIESEC moment. It’s the point, when you realise what we as an organisation can do for you, but also what you can do for us. AIESEC is a development platform that every member helps to maintain and recreate. It is something that you have to experience to understand.

Elena Liski
Local Committee President

If you’re interested in joining our local committee then apply to become part of our team! Just follow the link at  AIESEC in Lund and apply! Applications close at midnight January 31st 2016

Leave a Reply

